Spotlight & Giveaway: Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demeter

Posted September 19th, 2015 by in Blog, Spotlight / 28 comments

Today it is my pleasure to Welcome romance Rachel L. Demeter to HJ!
Spotlight&Giveaway

Hi Rachel and welcome to HJ! We’re so excited to chat with you about your new release, Finding Gabriel!

 

Please summarize the book for the readers here:

Finding GabrielDuring the chaotic ending of the Napoleonic Wars, two tortured souls struggle to overcome adversity and find hope in the wreckage of their pasts. Equal parts steamy and heartfelt, FINDING GABRIEL is an evocative journey through darkness and light, loss and hope, searing passion and relentless love . . .
 

Please share the opening lines of this book:

Paris, February 1815

The flintlock pistol felt slicker than ink against Gabriel’s weathered palms. Lost to severe thought, he tentatively rotated the firearm between thumb and forefinger. Overhead, light from an oil lamp reflected off the slender barrel and penetrated the darkness of his soul. The illumination spilled across the sleet-covered cobblestones, emitting a faint golden ring through the dense haze of the River Seine.

 

Please share a few Fun facts about this book…

Yes! Trivia rocks!

  • A ton of research was dedicated to Gabriel’s psychological state and self-inflicted disfigurement to ensure great authenticity and detail. My father is a surgeon, and his medical expertise proved invaluable in this regard.
  • Dog lovers will feel a special connection with one of the secondary characters (yup, you guessed right—it’s a big, ol’ loveable mutt).
  • Napoleon Bonaparte makes a memorable cameo.

 

If your book was optioned for a movie, what scene would you use for the audition of the main characters and why?

What a fantastic question! The following scene taps into many of the book’s central themes and conflicts: Gabriel and Ariah’s struggle with their brutal pasts, the severity of Gabriel’s disfigurement and his constant inner war—as well as the spark of hope that is ignited by Ariah’s tenderness and compassion. It also exposes both Gabriel and Ariah in their most vulnerable forms, thrusting them out of their comfort zones and into a lush, new horizon. Oh, and it’s sexy! 😉

“Look at me. Look at what you have saved.”

Gabriel released Ariah’s chin and tore away the bandage in a harsh movement. As his eyes bore into her own, pale moonlight fell upon the deformity, illuminating the twisted flesh and grotesque welts. The sight reminded her of a beautiful chateau . . . a stunning fortress situated along the coastline . . . one that had fallen into ruin and neglect. The skin was concave, destroyed, cavernous – a remnant of former glory. And the surrounding features – his burning eyes, the right side of his face, his powerful body – dwarfed the disfigurement with a striking beauty.
“Look at the monster you have created. Look upon my face, Ariah.”
She shivered at the sound of her name; slightly muffled from the injury to his mouth, it slid from his tongue with equal parts venom and hunger.
“I was supposed to die that night . . .” The last of his words ended in a choked whisper. His face fell forward in despair until his forehead was pressed against her own. He was impossibly close. And he appeared every gram a flesh-and-blood warrior – coarse and ruthlessly untamed. Sweltering heat radiated from his body and engulfed all five of her senses. She was suffocating. Visions of that long-ago night echoed in her mind until she could perceive nothing else. Ariah gave a shallow cry as she struggled to free herself once more.
“Don’t. Don’t leave me. Please.”
Her movements ceased. The words struck a chord deep inside her chest. She connected her gaze with his and was rendered speechless by the naked anguish in his stare. Regret and desire were etched in every line of his face – but what stole her breath was something entirely different. For the second time, it was neither anger nor resentment that radiated from his eyes, but a longing so intense that it nearly overwhelmed her: hope.

 

What do you want people to take away from reading this book?

Never abandon hope or lose faith in yourself.

Oh—and a healthy dose of French history, of course!

 

What are you currently working on? What other releases do you have planned for 2015?

My muse has been kind to me lately.

I’m thrilled to say that I have several stories in the works, including a historical romance/horror hybrid set in a Victorian asylum, a medieval historical romance, a few contemporary romances, and a horror novel. A KINDLED WINTER, my heart-warming contemporary holiday romance, is scheduled for release in November 2015—so stay on the lookout! 🙂

It’s a very exciting (and busy) time!
 

Thanks for blogging at HJ!

 

Giveaway: 2 Digital copies of Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demete

 

To enter Giveaway: Please complete the Rafflecopter form and Post a comment to this Q: What are your all-time favorite historical romance novel designations (Regency England, nineteenth century France, the Middle Ages, Colonial America, etc.)? Why? And what are some of your favorite historical romance novels?

 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 
 

Book Info:

Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die.

After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon’s army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger.

But fate has a different plan.

Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she’s moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.

Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah—and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah’s own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts—or will the cycle of history repeat again?

Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley’s Lord of Ice and Judith James’s Broken Wing, Finding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25659511-finding-gabriel
Buy Link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YLWA044/
 
 

Meet the Author:

Rachel L. DemeteRachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and her high school sweetheart of eleven years. She enjoys writing dark, poignant romances that challenge the reader’s emotions and explore the redeeming power of love.

Imagining dynamic worlds and characters has been Rachel’s passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mother would record them for her. She holds a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether crafting the protagonist or antagonist, she ensures every character is given a soul.

Rachel endeavors to defy conventions by blending elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness.

Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.

Don’t be a stranger! Rachel loves to connect and interact with her readers:

Visit Rachel’s Official Website: http://racheldemeter.net
Stay in the loop with Rachel’s Author Newsletter: http://tinyurl.com/rldnewsletter
Follow Rachel on Twitter: @RachelLDemeter
Join Rachel on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rldemeter
Add Rachel on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/RachelLDemeter

 
 
 

28 Responses to “Spotlight & Giveaway: Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demeter”

  1. Amanda Thompson

    Regencies, middles ages, and many others because I was born in the wrong century… It would take too long to name my favorite historical romance novels.

  2. Suzanne Dye

    Regency is a favorite but this book hits right into my favorite world. Note better than a tortured hero from the Napoleonic wars. I must have this book.

  3. haddies.haven

    Hmm, I love all eras and settings, I am a major fan of Victorian and Medieval. One of the novels I have enjoyed most recently actually takes place in 33 A.D. by Janette Oke and Davis Bunn, The Acts of Faith series.

  4. kermitsgirl

    Big fan of pretty much EVERY historical setting. I’ve recently gotten into some from the early AD years that have been interesting, but my favorite by far is Regency England. Reading stories from that era is like pulling on a warm blanket, very comforting.

    As for my favorite, of course Pride & Prejudice. I also just finished a book that has shot it’s way up to one of my top favorites of all time: Only a Kiss by Mary Balogh. I’d never read anything by her before and bought the book on a whim. It was a great decision.

  5. Chey

    I don’t really have a favourite time period. i’m more interested in the story than the time period.

  6. lrhubble

    I enjoy them all. It is interesting to read about other time periods and get a glimpse into a different way of life. There are too many I love enjoyed reading to name just one or even a few.

  7. Rachel L. Demeter (@RachelLDemeter)

    Rachel L. Demeter here! 🙂 Just popping in to say that I’m honored to be on Harlequin Junkie and it’s a pleasure to meet all of you lovely readers! Thank you for all the wonderful comments and story suggestions. <3 Long live the timelessness of Historical Romance! <3

  8. Janie McGaugh

    Regency England or almost any time period in Scotland are my favorite romance locations. Georgette Heyer, who was my introduction to historical romance, is probably the reason for the love of Regency romances, and I love Scottish romances, because I love Scotland! Some of my favorites are novels by Grace Burrowes, Elizabeth Hoyt, Connie Brockway, Monica McCarty, Lorraine Heath, Shana Galen, and Johanna Lindsey.

  9. BookLady

    I enjoy many different historical periods, including Regency England, Revolutionary France, and the American Revolution. Some of my favorites are A Tale of Two Cities, Gone With the Wind, and The Count of Monte Christo.

  10. erinf1

    Honestly, I like them all 🙂 But I also like reading non conventional historical romance too, where the hero or heroine doesn’t have to live/adhere to the social rules of the time. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Patricia B.

    My favorites tend to be medieval Highland or England set books, Westerns, and Colonial America. They all share a wildness of both land and people. Julie Garwood’s historicals are favorites. Pamela Clare’s MacKinnon’s Rangers series is a favorite.

  12. taswmom

    Scotland, England, and the old west. I read one set it Russia many years ago, and learned a lot about the country! I love when that happens.

  13. Amy Rickman

    The Montgomerys and Armstrongs and McCabe Trilogy (Highlanders) by Maya Banks and House Of Pleasure by Kate Pearce (Regency)

Please leave a comment