REVIEW: Hearts On Hold by Gracie MacGregor

Posted July 26th, 2013 by in Blog, Contemporary Romance, Escape, Review / 0 comments

Hearts On Hold by Gracie MacGregor is the debut novel of Gracie Macgregor.The genre is basically adult contemporary romance with a little suspense thrown in.

HOHCara has guarded her privacy since her husband’s death and the sleepy Maltese village of Xlendi where she lives,provides her with the privacy, anonymity, and the serene life she craves, far from her former world.Her peaceful life is disturbed when a monolithic company threatens to destroy the village’s historical zones with its development and in addition she stumbles(literally) upon Brandon Blackshaw,a researcher and professor who is determined to get through her defenses and win her heart. Cate has to choose which is more important her hard-won privacy, or the future of her beloved Xlendi and will the budding romance with the professor survive after her past comes back to haunt her..??

The writing is the strongest feature of the novel. Gracie Macgregor has written Hearts On Hold beautifully with good research and likable characters. Her description of the smallest detail and her insight does not fail to move you. The story was good but predictable and slow at times. The romance was also good and it had some passion filled moments between the characters.There was also some suspense which slowly unraveled and gave the story a good momentum.

Overall Hearts on Hold is a wonderfully written. This book will be loved by not only the fans of Nora Roberts and Jayne Ann Krentz but by everyone who wants a good and medium paced romance.

 

Book Info:

Harlequin JunkiePublisher: Escape Publishing – Harlequin Enterprises, Australia Pty Ltd (July 1, 2013)

Emotional, suspenseful and set in paradise, Hearts on Hold is a novel for fans of Nora Roberts and Jayne Ann Krentz.

The strongest sunshine casts the darkest shadows…

Cate Boyd is searching for a place where nobody knows her name. The sleepy Maltese village of Xlendi offers privacy, anonymity, and the serene life she craves, far from her former world. But her peace is shattered when monolithic development company Vena announces its plans to level her village, and threatens to expose Cate’s secrets if she stands in its way.

Her peace is shattered when monolithic development company Vena announces its plans to level her village, and threatens to expose Cate’s secrets if she stands in its way.

The arrival of seductive, nosy professor Brandon Blackshaw seems too coincidental for comfort — especially when she discovers that Vena is his research partner. As the pressure mounts, Cate must decide which is more important: her hard-won privacy, or the future of her beloved Xlendi.

Please leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.